About Us

Mission Statement

Westfield Senior Citizens Housing Corporation extends the independence of senior citizens through the provision of comfortable, affordable housing in conjunction with social and recreational activities.

Our History

The first Westfield Senior Citizens Housing Development, located at 1133 Boynton Avenue, Westfield, NJ, was planned and built by the Westfield Senior Citizens Housing Corporation (non-profit). The facility was under discussion and planned for over ten years, and evolved from efforts by several Westfield churches and a series of study committees appointed by and reporting to Mayors of the Town. Construction of the 172 unit complex commenced in September of 1976, and the first units were occupied in November of 1977. It is built on land owned by the Town of Westfield and leased to the Corporation. In accordance with the lease agreement with the Town of Westfield, the purpose of the project is to serve the needs of low income senior citizens. Rent subsidies have been awarded by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development. The Board of Trustees of the Corporation oversees the development and sets policy, subject to the requirements of Federal and State laws and regulations which affect all aspects of the facility, including tenant eligibility, subsidy eligibility, rental charges, maintenance and general administration.

Second Westfield Senior Citizens Housing opened in October, 1995. Westfield Two was developed under the Westfield Senior Citizens Urban Renewal Partnership. It is comprised of 131 rental units designed specifically for seniors and meets all of the Americans with Disabilities Act requirements.

Congregate services are offered in both buildings, including meals, personal assistance, medication assistance, and housekeeping support to the frail elderly. Recreational programs include arts and crafts, a computer center that provides training and access to the Internet, a physical fitness center, and a community garden that is accessible to the disabled and elderly. A coffee shop / convenience store is also available to residents.

We recognize that making the decision as to what type of housing is appropriate for you, or a loved one, can be a difficult one.

Our Staff

Elizabeth A. Fennik, MSW, LCSW, Executive Director
908-233-5898
liz.fennik@westfieldseniorhousing.com

 

Westfield I Staff

Phone: 908-233-5898

Melanie Hunt, Office Manager
melanie.hunt@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Randi Kass, Activities Director
randi.kass@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Pablo Marrero, Maintenance Manager
pablo.marrero@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Linda Arches, MSW, Social Worker/Congregate Services Director
linda.arches@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Mary Weber, Director of Occupancy
mary.weber@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Verna Graves, Occupancy Specialist
verna.graves@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Jennifer Jacobs, Occupancy Specialist
jennifer.jacobs@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Westfield II Staff

Phone: 908-518-9586

Noreen Romano, Administrative Assistant
Noreen.romano@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Sal Morelli, Superintendent
sal.morelli@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Kelly Bonsignore, MSW, LSW, Social Worker/Congregate Services Director
kelly.bonsignore@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Carezza Motley, Activities Director
carezza.motley@westfieldseniorhousing.com

Nicole Drawsand, Occupancy Specialist
nicole.drawsand@westfieldseniorhousing.com